WG3: Socio-cultural perspectives

_DSC8523

Working group three
Social-cultural perspectives

Socio-cultural phenomenon that contextualize labour and birth, including the effects of dissonance between dominant cultural social expectations and those of marginalized groups, such as migrant women.

Chair: Dr Lucy Frith frith@liverpool.ac.uk
Co-chair: Dr Joanne White jowhite67@yahoo.co.uk

This group focuses on the socio-cultural aspects of labour and birth to contextualize variation in practice. We will look at the effects of the dissonance between dominant cultural social expectations and those of marginalized groups, such as migrant women. Work in this WG will pay particular attention to the views, experiences and aspirations of service users. We will look at: socio-cultural explorations of dominant models and places of birth and associated care pathways in different national settings; expectations of services amongst different groups of women within different country settings (including marginalized women) and how these impact on engagement with services and experiences of services; methods for measuring women´s satisfaction with services and the development of new qualitative methodologies in this area; exchange data on how maternal services in different countries are enhancing access and adapting services based on women´s expressed needs.


WG3 News

WG3 workshop: Migration, mobility and reproductive health (to be held on June 8, 2017) (Download the pdf about the workshop here – some text in Czech).

An English version of of the pdf is available here to download.


WG3 Reports

[NOTE: You can read all the reports from all the working groups on the Publications & Outputs page here]

WG3: Social-cultural perspectives

Report: Impact of maternity care policy in Catalonia: a retrospective cross-sectional study of service delivery in public and private hospitals: Download pdf here.

WG3 (Jan 2017): Download available of this report.

WG3 (March 2017): Report on migrnat women sub group.


WG3 profiles

lucy frith bw crop

Dr Lucy Frith
University of Liverpool
Disciplinary background: Bioethics, social science, health services research

Lucy is Senior Lecturer in Bioethics and Social Science at the University of Liverpool. Her research focuses on the social and ethical aspects of health-care decision-making and policy with a particular interest in the theory and practice of combining empirical methods with ethical analysis.

She is interested in organisation culture and the social and ethical implications of developments in epigenetics. She has carried out research on women’s health, pregnancy and childbirth; reproductive technologies (gamete and embryo donation); clinical trials and consent methods; and the use of evidence in practice and policy.

Lucy is empirical ethics section editor of the journal Clinical Ethics and an associate editor for BMC Pregnancy & Childbirth and BMC Medical Ethics. She was a member of the COST Action IS0907 Childbirth cultures, concerns and consequences: creating a dynamic EU framework for optimal maternity care’.


joanna white

Joanna White
Centre for Research in Anthropology, Instituto Universitário, Lisbon
Disciplinary background: Anthropology

Joanna is studying an MA and PhD in Social Anthropology at Goldsmiths College, University of London.

She has carried out over 20 years of applied ethnographic and social research overseas (Cambodia, Vietnam, Tanzania, Nigeria, India).

Her main areas of research interest are: ethnic minorities in SE Asia, medical anthropology, embodiment, maternity and motherhood.

Joanna is currently a Marie Curie Fellow at CRIA studying cultural processes related to pregnancy and childbirth in Portugal and England.


marie-clare balam

Marie-Clare Balaam MBalaam@uclan.ac.uk
University of Central Lancashire
Disciplinary background: History/women’s studies/midwifery researcher

Marie-Clare’s background is in History and Women’s Studies. She has worked as a lecturer and an academic and community based researcher. She currently works as a Research Assistant at the University of Central Lancashire (UCLan), UK.

Her research interests are migrant women’s experiences of maternity care and childbirth in the UK and Europe, social support and historical and socio-cultural perspectives on women’s health particularly menopause. Her current research is focused on the experiences of asylum seeking and refugee women and social support for marginalised women.


Ans 2016 cropped2 bw

Dr Ans Luyben luyben@bluewin.ch
Hospital Spital STS AG in Thun, Switzerland
Disciplinary background: Midwifery

Dr. Ans Luyben is a pan-European midwife and academic. Born and trained in the Netherlands, she worked as a midwife, lecturer, researcher and manager in a variety of institutions in the Netherland and in Switzerland.

She carried out several research projects and published in a variety of German, Dutch and English professional journals and books (https://www.sites.google.com/site/ansluyben/).

Her doctoral study at the Glasgow Caledonian University in Scotland (2008), addressed clients’ experiences in regard to antenatal care in Scotland, the Netherlands and Switzerland.

Currently, she works as a midwife at the postnatal ward in the hospital Spital STS AG in Thun, Switzerland, while having honorary appointments at the University of Liverpool and Bournemouth University, UK. Her research interests are women’s and family health, with an emphasis on client-centred care, experiences and outcome, models of care provision, antenatal care, health care education and cross-national comparative studies.

Dr. Luyben is a Co-Chair of the ICM Education Standing Committee and has been actively involved in a variety of international projects such as the European Master of Science in Midwifery, the Multidisciplinary Patient Safety Curriculum (WHO) as well as the organisation of the bi-annual German speaking Workshop „Visions for Research and Practice in maternity care” and the Triennial ICM Conferences. She sees the STMS activities as great tools to gain and challenge cross- cultural knowledge and learn from the best.


Working Group 3 members

Florence D’Haenens (Belgium) Florence.DHaenens@ehb.be Erasmus University College Brussels

Saraswathi Vedam (Canada) saraswathi.vedam@midwifery.ubc.ca University of British Columbia

Professor Sanja Spoljar Vrzina (Croatia) Sanja.Spoljar-Vrzina@pilar.hr

Zora Raboteg-Saric (Croatia) zora.raboteg-saric@pilar.hr

Lea Takács (Czech Republic) lea.takacs@ff.cuni.cz Charles University Prague, Department of Psychology

Alena Parizkova (Czech Republic) parizkov@kss.zcu.cz University of West Bohemia

Ema Hresanova (Czech Republic) ehresano@kss.zcu.cz University of West Bohemia

Triin Roosalu (Estonia) triin.roosalu@tlu.ee Tallinn Universit

Marjaana Siivola (Finland) maikku.siivola@gmail.com Aalto University & Doula

Marina Weckend (Germany) marina@weckend.net Hannover Medical School

Erika Schmidt (Hungary) schmidt.erika@szuleteshaz.hu Birth House Association Hungary

Charles Savona Ventura (Malta) charles.savona-ventura@um.edu.mt University of Malta

Dineke Korfker (Netherlands) dineke.korfker@tno.nl TNO

Tine Eri (Norway) tine.eri@hioa.no Oslo and Akershus University

Jo White (Portugal) jowhite67@yahoo.co.uk Centre for Research in Anthropology (CRIA)

Susana Silva (Portugal) susilva@med.up.pt Institute of Public Health, Uni versity of Porto

Alexandra Brinzaniuc (Romania) alexandra.brinzaniuc@publichealth.ro Babes-Bolyai University Cluj-Napoca

Sarlota Pufflerova (Slovakia) pufflerova@odz.sk

Gracia Maroto Navarro (Spain) gracia.maroto.easp@juntadeandalucia.es Andalusian School of Public Health

Prof Manuela Vega Vazquez (Spain) mvega@us.es University of Seville

Belen Diez (Spain) belendb@gmail.com Department of English Studies, University of Jaén

Josefina Goberna Tricas (Spain) jgoberna@ub.edu Universitat de Barcelona

Ingela Lundgren (Sweden) ingela.lundgren@gu.se

Ans Luyben (Switzerland) luyben@bluewin.ch Spital STS AG Thun

Irene Maafi (Switzerland) irene.maffi@unil.ch University of Lausanne

Prof Valerie Fleming (Switzerland) flem@zhaw.ch Zürich University of Applied Sciences

Clizia Iseppi (Switzerland) cliziaclizia@hotmail.com

Sarah Church (UK) churchs@lsbu.ac.uk

Mel Cooper (UK) M.Cooper2@bradford.ac.uk Bradford University

Marie-Clare Balaam (UK) mbalaam@uclan.ac.uk University of Central Lancashire

Rose McCarthy (UK) rose@cityofsanctuary.org City of Sanctuary

Lucy Frith (UK) frith@liverpool.ac.uk Liverpool University

Rayah Feldman (UK) Rayahfeldman@maternityaction.org.uk Maternity Action

Ayse Gurol (Turkey) gurola@atauni.edu.tr

Serap Ejder Apay (Turkey) sejder@atauni.edu.tr Ataturk University